We care, and it shows!
If you are a drunk driving accident victim, a drunk driving accident attorney can help you recover financial compensation from medical bills, property damage, funeral expenses, lost wages, and even emotional pain.
Choosing the Best Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
You do not know what to look for when choosing a Florida drunk driving accident lawyer. Do you ask friends or family members? What about online reviews? Or maybe you just pick someone off the street (we don’t recommend this option).
The truth is, there are many factors to consider when choosing your drunk driving accidents lawyer. Here are a few things to remember when looking for the best drunk driving accident attorney near you.
- Experience. Does the attorney you consider have experience defending clients against drunk driving charges? How long have they been practicing law? How many drunk driving accident cases like yours have they handled?
- Time and Resources. What resources do they have at their disposal to accurately value and represent your case? Do they have the time to give your drunk driving accident case the attention it needs?
- Reputation. Do they come highly recommended by past clients or your peers?
- Payment. Do they operate on a contingency fee, or will you owe them fees upfront?
Florida Drunk Driving Laws
It is illegal in Florida for an intoxicated driver to operate a motor vehicle if their blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. Under Florida law, section 316.193, If a driver’s BAC is 0.15% or higher, they are legally intoxicated and can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI), which carries fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
If a child is found in the car, there will be an increased fine and possibly jail time. A first-time DUI conviction usually suspends a minimum six-month driver’s license.
Furthermore, your vehicle will also be impounded for up to 90 days, depending on the offense’s frequency.
DUI and Drunk Driving Statistics
Drunk drivers are a major cause of car crashes both nationally and in Florida. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that in 2020, about 30% of drivers in traffic accidents were under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or medication at the time of the motor vehicle crash.
Drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more were responsible for almost 11,654 deaths that year. In 2018, Florida made 32,177 arrests for driving under the influence.
How Alcohol Impairs Your Driving
Drinking too much will directly affect your ability to drive. The legal limit for alcohol consumption in most states throughout the United States is 0.08%. However, impairment and reduced ability to drive safely can occur well before someone reaches the 0.08 percent blood alcohol limit.
Here are the effects that most people experience based on the blood alcohol concentration levels they reach:
A BAC of 0.02% means that you’ve consumed roughly two drinks. You may experience decreased vision, divided attention, altered mood, and some degree of impaired judgment.
A BAC of 0.05% means that you’ve had about three alcoholic drinks. It causes reduced coordination, trouble with driving, reduced response to emergencies, impaired judgment, lowered awareness, and lowered inhibitions.
A BAC of 0.08% is the legal limit of intoxication while driving. At this BAC, effects include short-term memory impairment, reduced ability to process and/or comprehend information, impaired perception, slurred speech, vision, and reactions, and decreased ability to perceive danger.
A BAC of 0.10% is reached after around five drinks. At this point, you may experience decreased ability to brake and keep your lane position, slurred words, slowed thinking, poor coordination, and poor control.
A BAC of 0.15% is typically reached when someone has had around seven drinks. At this level, a person can experience significant impairment and substantially decrease someone’s ability to drive.
In this case, a standard drink is a drink containing 0.6 ounces of alcohol. Examples of standard drinks are 12 ounces of beer, 5 ounces of wine, or 1.5 ounces of spirits or liquor.
You can see that even though the legal BAC limit is 0.08%, you’re still clearly impaired at this level. Driving after drinking too much alcohol can significantly impair your driving ability.
Common Injuries in Drunk Driving
Depending on the severity of an injury, the consequences of drunk driving accidents can range from minor cuts or bruises that don’t require medical attention to catastrophic injuries that can dramatically affect the life of drunk driving accident victims. A drunk driving accident may require someone to receive medical treatment for the remainder of their life due to serious injuries. The most common drunk driving accident injuries are listed below.
TBI injuries can cause sensory issues, headaches, vertigo, loss of consciousness, and speech impairments, among other symptoms.
Spinal injuries can range from bulging or herniated discs to complete spinal cord injury. These injuries can lead to constant discomfort or paralysis.
An accident can cause bones to bend unnaturally, which may lead to fractures. Broken bones require extensive healing and may result in long-term or permanent pain.
Soft Tissue Injuries
Soft tissue injuries are one of the most commonly reported after an accident. Common complaints include muscle strains, sprains, bruising, and inflammation.
An explosion can be caused by a severe accident. The resulting burns can cause permanent scarring.
Common Drunk Driving Accidents in Florida
Drinking alcohol greatly diminishes a driver’s ability to respond appropriately on the road. All three factors—confusion, poor judgment, and lack of awareness—can lead to deadly accidents. Because an intoxicated driver’s actions are unpredictable and erratic, you should always be aware and watch for signs of drunken driving. Driving under the influence can cause a wide range of accidents, including:
A delayed response time can make it hard for a driver who is under the influence of alcohol to stop in time. This can be compounded when the drunk driver follows too closely behind you.
You could face serious penalties if you rear-end another vehicle while driving under the influence.
When a drunk driver swerving into the opposite traffic lane causes other drivers to swerve out of their lanes, they may not notice the danger until it’s too late. Head-on collisions usually result in serious or life-threatening injuries.
A T-bone collision occurs when one car hits another car from the side. They’re also called side-impact crashes. These accidents are usually caused by the drunk driver failing to stop at a red light or stop signs. T-bone accidents can be one of the most dangerous and fatal car accidents.
A wrong-way collision occurs when a driver turns an incorrect way on a one-way street or enters an off-ramp. Wrong-way collisions usually end in death.
How Our Drunk Driving Accident Attorneys Can Help
The last thing you want to do after being injured in a drunk driving crash is to try to navigate the confusing world of a drunk driving accident claim. But it doesn’t have to be that way. If you’ve experienced a car crash caused by another driver who was drinking alcohol, you can take steps to protect yourself financially. At Denmon Pearlman, we offer free consultations to clients who have suffered injuries from drunk drivers.
We know how overwhelming it is to deal with insurance companies and the process of getting paid for your accident injuries. You don’t have to go through that by yourself. Let our law firm work for you. Contact our drunk driving accident lawyers today for a free legal consultation.
What damages can you recover after a drunk driving accident in Florida?
If you’re involved in a Florida car accident, you may be able to file a claim against the at-fault driver. These damages may include compensation for your past or future medical expenses, lost earnings, out-of-pocket costs, physical pain, or emotional suffering. Compensatory damages can be critical to your recovery and may be the only type of damage available after a motor vehicle accident.
However, punitive damages may also be possible if an alcohol-impaired driver caused your accident.
Should I get a lawyer for a car accident that was my fault in Florida?
No Florida laws or regulations require you to seek a lawyer after a motor vehicle accident. However, your personal injury attorney will ensure that you do and say the proper things to file for compensation or damages from the beginning.
How much can someone sue for a car accident in Florida?
There is no limit on the number of damages that someone can sue for after motor vehicle accidents in Florida. However, the amount needs to be documented and supported by proof of damages.
How long do you have to get a lawyer after a car accident in Florida?
The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim in Florida is four years.
We have your back. Whatever you might be suffering from, accidents, injuries or medical malpractice, we have you covered throughout Florida